Welcome!

Welcome to my Prestige Training Blog! This blog is designated to discussing topics regarding instructional design and technology. As you read and collaborate with your own ideas, I will research fellow instructional designers’ blogs and professional newsletters to explore trends in this field.  I hope you enjoy and please feel free to add your comments and thoughts.

To kick this blog off, our first visit is to a website that is completely geared towards instructional design and development as a service provided by DePaul University’s IDD department.  The website offers numerous blogs provided by a variety of professionals in the field of instructional design. As I skimmed through the site, immediately one blog stood out to me and peaked my interest. This particular piece is titled  I Don’t Need a Learning Management System—I Teach Face-to-Face.  Even though this piece talked about the lack of professors and instructors understanding the importance of integrating technology such as a Learning Management System in formal education, I recognize that some organizations’ training and development departments share the same misconception.  There are some training and development departments within organizations that understand the importance of integrating technology and provide a balance in blended delivery in the company’s course catalog. Others miss the boat and in most cases, it is due to the belief that if your organization only offers instructor- led training, then a LMS is not necessary.  In this blog, Emily Stone provides a survey conducted in 2009 by Michigan State University’s Virtual University Design and Technology group.  It was interesting to see how students’ expectation of a great instructor led class has transformed as technological tools have progressed and become integrated more with learning.  So for all of those who train in the classroom and doom all things technological, I have bad news for you. Your students are expecting you to add something technically savvy to your course.  So listen, I get it , I enjoy face to face interaction with my participants, but I also can appreciate when technology can streamline a process for me. So my word of advice from one passionate instructional designer to another is to stop being stubborn even though I know it’s hard to let go of certain habits, but trust me a LMS is something that can make life easier!

So now that I’m off my soap box regarding Learning Management Systems, let me now mosey on over to the second website I stumbled upon.  Allison Mooreland has this wonderful website she tagged Learning in Bits.  The blog that caught my eye was her piece on competency models used in organization’s to effectively manage performance.  Being that I have created courses on Performance Management and just rolled out a training that impacted 130 leaders within an organization, I found this blog to be quite interesting.  As I read through the blog and reflected on my own experience in training , I began to wonder, “Do I create trainings and provide support that encourages change in behavior and performance improvement?” This is something that instructional designers strive to accomplish when designing and facilitating a training. So I ask you, when you are creating a training, what do you do to ensure that there is a greater chance for a change in behavior. How do ensure your training is not wasted time sitting in a training room for four hours?

Last but not least we make our final destination to visit the elearning coach.  This blog encompasses topics regarding training and technology. The discussion that sparked my interest was the question asking whether or not you need a degree in instructional design or adult learning theory in order to be a successful instructional designer.  The blog shared a survey that has been open over several years conducted by Cammy Bean, indicating that 68% of instructional designers do not have a degree in IDT in comparison to the 38% that hold a masters in IDT.  Looking at my own experience, I’m currently in school now to obtain my MS in Instructional Design after working in this field for 5 years.  Currently no one in my department holds a degree in that area of concentration, and no one in other organizations where I have worked held degrees in IDT. Are any of them great trainers, of course! Do any of them have an understanding of cognitive learning theories, uh, not so much.  But I know of trainers who attend seminars, get certifications, and focus on growing trends in the field.  So do you need a degree to be a great instructional designer? I’m not quite sure. For me, I felt that I had great hands on experience in training but it was time to hit the books and learn the foundation.  The information that I have learned thus far as a student has proved to be beneficial to me in my career. I would hope that most in this field would take it serious enough to further their education in some shape way or form (certification, workshops, or formal education). So I ask you, do you need a degree in instructional design to be a successful instructional designer?

Leave a Reply

